Skip to main content


Showing posts from June, 2016
UN General Assembly elects non-permanent membersJune 29, 2016 UN General Assembly on Tuesday elected Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan and Sweden to serve during 2017-2018 in the UN Security Council, while the contest between Netherlands and Italy has yet to be officially resolved. The two countries vying for one of two seats representing the Western European and others Group (WEOG) agreed to split the two-year term and balloting was “suspended until further notice” shortly after 5 p.m. EDT (2200 GMT). Sweden resoundingly won the other WEOG seat on the first ballot. The elected five are to join on Jan. 1, 2017 the five permanent members of the 15-nation council — Britain, China, France, Russiaand the United States and replace the five non-permanent members elected in 2014 to serve during 2015-2016 — Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela, who are ending their two-year terms on Dec. 31. The 193-member General Assembly mandated in 2014 that elections beginning in 2016 for non-perma…